June 27, 2009

Bounce, bounce

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 12:22 am by letterstoelias

Hello again my Love,The trampoline is up!  Our backyard is now looking pretty full.  My mom and I spent a few hours yesterday afternoon assembling it.  We worked well together and only ran into a couple of snafus along the way.  My muscles are a little stiff today as I wanted to get all the bolts as tight as possible.  I knew you would be watching and you were always obsessed with getting things ridiculously tight, so I wanted to do you proud.  I’m sure you would have gone and managed to tighten them further still though.  Here are a few shots of the work in progress . . .

June 09 141June 09 143

June 09 147 June 09 151

We took E to Shelley’s so she would get to come home to the surprise, and I had C on my back in the ergo half the time until she finally looked sleepy enough and I put her down for a nap.  She woke up just as we finished it and even though she was a part of the first stage she was still pretty surprised to see it in completion.

 June 09 157

June 09 152June 09 155

E came home shortly after and was quite surprised as well.  She had actually been talking about getting a trampoline for a few days – Mom and I wondered if she had picked up on our conversations about it or something.  I snapped a few shots but then had to run out the door with my Dad to go to the Chat grad and present the bursary in your name.  I was under the impression I wouldn’t have to speak, but when the presentations started I realized I had to at least be the one to say the recipients name and all the presenters before me said nice little blurbs about the bursary.  I got pretty nervous at that point.  Dad offered to come with me, but I sucked it up and tried it on my own.  I managed to thank the Blackfish for their donation in honour of you, but then got a bit choked up and didn’t mention what exactly the bursary was for, though I managed to still get the recipients name out – Matthew Hewitt.  He was pretty emotional as well, he cried a bit and gave me a big hug and I told him that you would have been very proud.  He is going to go to a culinary program in Victoria.  His mom was also thrilled and came up to my Dad and me after and gave us big hugs with tears in her eyes.  She told me what you had written in Matthew’s year book and she said she wrote the same thing in the graduation card she gave him with a note that read, ‘Remember what Elias said!’  It was very sweet.  I was glad I went and got up there, and I figure it may get a little easier as the years go by.  Still, it was difficult to watch the ceremony and envision our girls’ grads without you there.  Of course that is many, many years away, but it still struck a chord with me.

Chat Grad 09

When we came home the girls were asleep so I had the night off from having to put them to bed which was nice, and they apparently went down ok for my Mom.  It took a while, but no fuss.  I posted on the caring bridge site last night because Michael Jackson died yesterday and I find the way the media covers something like that so disgusting.  I really feel for his family.  I understand to some extent the grief that they must feel, but to have to go through that with all the paparazzi and press everywhere is unimaginable.  I could barely walk leaving the hospital the night you died, if I had to do that with a thousand cameras on me . . . ugh.  I just wish they could leave the family alone.  Ok, I’ll get off my soapbox now.  I took the girls up to Elphi this morning – I took in a thank you card to the staff for all their support with everything from the fundraiser, the Elias Appreciation Day, the memorial and the yard work they did while we were on the cruise.  It was nice to visit with some of the staff and Jenny brought us into the cafeteria so we could have some of the extras from the strawberry tea – chocolate covered strawberries (my favourite), strawberries with whipped cream, and strawberry short cake.  The girls enjoyed it quite a bit, as did I.  I also had the opportunity to thank Carolyn for performing the funeral service and acting as MC for the memorial.  It was a good visit.  The afternoon we just spent some time in the backyard between the trampoline and the kiddie pool I had set up the other day.  After dinner I took the girls out again to the tramp and they had a great time and burned off some energy before bed which was great.  They’re enjoying it quite a bit thus far.  Lots of giggles.  I couldn’t help but imagine the fun you would have had with them and how much you all would have enjoyed playing together on it.

I don’t think anything else too exciting happened, and though tired I was feeling a bit better energy wise and managed to keep my patience in check – it also helped that E was extremely cooperative and played incredibly well on her own for once while I was on the phone.  I am still waiting to hear about the settlement for the mortgage insurance, but I think we may finally know early next week.  I settled on preschool for E as well.  Jack and Jill, where I went as a child.

Anyhow, as usual I’m dozing a bit – so it’s time for bed.  I’ll write again soon,

~C~

P.S.  I Love You

June 09 181June 09 196June 09 178June 09 167

3 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Good for you Chelsea! It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you have to! I bet the girls are loving the trampoline. We’ll have to get together again soon for another play with the girls.

    • letterstoelias said,

      Thanks so much Lisa – the girls are loving the trampoline and it’s good to hear all the giggles and heartfelt laughter. We’ll certainly have to get together again soon – I appreciate all your support.

      ~C~

  2. Roads said,

    Well done for fixing up the pre-school. Big steps, for tiny people.


Leave a Reply

