November 5, 2009

The sweetest nectar is within

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 2:58 am by letterstoelias

“Legends say that hummingbirds float free of time, carrying our hopes for love, joy and celebration. The hummingbird’s delicate grace reminds us that life is rich, beauty is everywhere, every personal connection has meaning and that laughter is life’s sweetest creation.”

(though I may beg to differ slightly on the last bit – as much as I love laughter, and we laughed a LOT together, I personally think that our two little girls are life’s sweetest creations . . . )

There are countless ways hummingbirds remind me of you. Even a fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird can brighten almost anyone’s day. They are undeniably amazing, beautiful creatures. A hummingbird’s life is ephemeral, just as yours was; but the swift nature of their existence doesn’t take away from what they bring to the world – it only adds more.

I love the symbolism of a hummingbird. Their fluttering wings form the infinity symbol. Infinity. Eternity. They can fly backwards – looking back on the past, but not dwelling there. Remember what was beautiful. Move forward, but pause – hover. Savor each moment – live for it. Sip the nectar. Appreciate the things we love.

They are tireless. Pure energy. Tenacious. They accomplish that which may seem impossible and handle the twists and turns of life with grace and dignity. They seek out the good in life and the beauty in each day.

Hummingbirds love honeysuckle flowers. We have one in our yard and I’ve seen them there. I’m sure they love the nectar, but perhaps they also appreciate the symbolism of the honeysuckle – generosity and devoted, true, undying love.

In some cultures, hummingbirds are believed to be the souls of departed loved ones, or a messenger between worlds. The hummingbird is also said to be able to heal the saddest heart and make anyone glad to be alive again, and that it can heal any grief or pain . . . .

November 09 052

(posted in b/w so skin irritation doesn’t show – it was only done last night – and there is no actual colour in it anyway)

Regardless of the effect, I feel honoured to bear a permanent display our everlasting, unconditional love.  Life’s greatest gift.  A reminder of all that we learned from each other. Of all that you taught me. The writing is even yours – the word, ‘Love’, traced from a note you gave to me over a decade ago – now permanently a part of me, inside and out.

You learned to live the life of a hummingbird – and now you are mine.

~C~

P.S.  I Love You

14 Comments »

  1. Bridie said,

    (((((((hug))))))))

  2. Dianne said,

    I thought I was gonna make it through reading your post without crying and I did…Until the very LAST sentence. It’s beautiful Chelsea!

  3. Bernadette said,

    How beautiful, I am touched.
    Bernadette

  4. lisa said,

    beautiful chelsea! when i started reading your letter i thoight to myself, she should get a humminbird tattoo! i scrold down and there it was. a perminent reminder of thr love you shared:)

  5. Colin said,

    I’ll have to share my hummingbird shots from Costa Rica. There’s a nature preserve I visited that had the most amazing indigenous population of h’birds, and they were honestly among the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen, very up-close and personal. Maybe a trip for you and the girls, one day…

  6. Beautifully put.

  7. Anna said,

    So beautifully written Chelsea! Thoughts of you and Elias inspire me everyday…Thank you.

  8. Freshwidow said,

    What a beautifully thought out memorial.

    hugs to you and yours!

    X

    Supa

  9. Crystal said,

    Cheslea, How beautiful, both the tattoo and your message. You inspire hope in everyone you come in contact with. Thinking of you always….

    Crystal, Greg, Cole and Emma

  10. […] though I can look at it in the mirror any time, I loved coming here and looking at the photo of my hummingbird tattoo – I love what it means to me, and I just wanted to leave it there for a while.  I’ve gotten […]

  11. Sheila said,

    ‘The hummingbird is also said to be able to heal the saddest heart and make anyone glad to be alive again, and that it can heal any grief or pain. . . .’
    That’s a sweet thought Chelsea and I do hope it brings you some healing. I love this symbol of your unconditional love and your message is beautiful–a perfect remembrance of your Elias….for keeps.
    Blessings.

  12. letterstoelias said,

    Thanks so much to everyone for all your comments on my hummingbird tattoo, and for the message along with it. The tattoo means so much to me on a personal level, but it’s still nice to hear the appreciation from others as well, and I’m glad the message of it’s meaning came across well too.

    Now I just can’t wait for better weather so I can show it off a little easier!
    ~C~

  13. […] about me, I’m quite into symbolism.  I like things to have meaning, even if only to myself.  My hummingbird tattoo is not just because they are pretty birds, for […]

  14. […] hummingbird Image by gibsonsgolfer letterstoelias.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/the-sweetest-nect… […]


Leave a Reply

