February 26, 2010

My first birthday with you

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 9:30 pm by letterstoelias

Funny how this memory just came to me, days after my birthday – but it was the mention of sushi from a friend that brought it up.  I wrote this last week, but was waiting to post it until I managed to finish the other posts from this last week . . .

I remember my first birthday spent with you.  I was turning 19.  We were not dating, yet.  We had met just over a month earlier and had seen each other on a couple of outings with friends in common since.  And we had flirted a fair amount.

Linda and Kyla wanted to take me for lunch for my birthday so I met them at their college, where you also went.  Secretly, I was hoping I would see you.  One of them then said something to the effect of, ‘We should see if Elias will come with us.  He’s always up for skipping class!’  (of course this was before you found your calling and started your chef training, where you never missed a thing . . .)

And, as expected, you were willing to join us. Perfect.  We went for sushi.   I had never had sushi before, and wasn’t sure I would like it given my intense dislike for seafood even before I was vegetarian, but I thought I would give it a try.

One bite of my kappa maki, and the taste of the seaweed – it was not easy to swallow.  I tried to politely eat a bit more anyhow, but you could see me struggling, and laughed – even then you knew how to read me.  You offered to eat the rest.

I remember that excited feeling.  New infatuation.  Butterflies.  I was smitten with you the night we met – I felt the same that day, for the next six months until we started dating, and for the rest of the 12 ¾ yrs we had together.  We were by no means ‘perfect’ – we had our battles over the years.  Arguments, tears, hurtful words, annoyances.  But, these were always overcome with love.  Unconditional love.

In the end, I was always smitten with you, and always will be.  It was not easy to have my fist birthday without you, but I am glad that this memory came to me of my first one with you.

~C~

P.S.  I Love You

3 Comments »

  1. Sweet memory, Chelsea. Isn’t it amazing how treasured memories come to the surface and can bring us comfort and smiles. Thanks for sharing one of yours. Have a good weekend!
    Love Deb

  2. Dan said,

    Remembering the early stages of love is always fun. It gives you an idea of how the love is later expressed. The difficult days in the relationship seem to give it all more richness, kind of a thickening in the pot. You end up with a nice mixure of loves early passion, with the more seasoned ingredients.

    Lovely.

    Dan

    • letterstoelias said,

      Hi Dan,

      I love the ‘seasoned ingredient’ analogy – especially fitting since Elias was a chef. You but it beautifully. Thank you.

      ~C~


Leave a Reply

