March 22, 2010

Happy Birthday, My Love

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 12:37 pm by letterstoelias

I am thankful for this day.  I am thankful you were brought into this world and, eventually, into my life.

I am thankful for you – for all you were when I met you (a cheeky, charming boy), for all we experienced together, and for the amazing man you became (without ever losing that boyish charm).

I am thankful for the life you lived and how you lived it – with grace, dignity, humility, humour, compassion, love, honour, warmth – you know I could go on (and on, and on . . .).  A life lived wide.

 

(please don’t hate me for putting this one in . . . =)

I am thankful for all that I learned from you, for what you were able to teach others, and for all the girls learned from you in the far too short time you shared.

I am thankful that you chose me.  That you trusted me with your heart, and with your life.  What a precious gift.

As precious as our two little girls with your blood in their veins, your laugh, your smile (dimples included), your eyes, your spirit.  Of course for them I am thankful, as they too are here because of you.

I am thankful for your love.

This day is not an easy one to pass without you here.  The fact that you are gone hurts even more on days like this.  Your mom is very much on my mind today too – as this is more than likely one of her hardest days yet.

Though you are not here to get another year older, we will celebrate your life today.  We will celebrate the day you were born.  They way in which you lived.  And, I’m sure, more than a few tears will be shed for the fact that you are not here to continue living and share it with us.

Happy Birthday My Love.

~C~

P.S.  I Love You (and no, you will no longer always be a year older than me.  For I have now officially lived 9 days longer . . .)

11 Comments »

  1. Hugs and love to you and your girls, and all of your family. Keep breathing.

  2. brenda said,

    Wow. Heart break all over again.

    And, of course you had to put the Braveheart picture in there! Also, the one with Elias’ body and Eibhlin’s head is kind of very scary 🙂

    Thinking of you today….

  3. Bridie said,

    I love you and I am thinking of you all today. Thanks for sharing those photos. There are a couple there I’d not seen. The one of Eibhlin’s head on Elias’ body is one of them… That must have been fun for both of them.

    xxB

  4. Anthony said,

    Happy Birthday Man, cant say much more than I love you.

    Your Bro,

  5. Auntie Corilee said,

    A beautiful tribute. Thinking of you, Chelsea. Wishing you peace.

  6. LB said,

    love you three and thinking so much of elias today.

  7. Dan said,

    Chelsea,

    This is such a beautiful testament of your love for Elias. From the photos I can see why you loved him so much. The joy and sweetness comes through his eyes and his smile.

    I wish you peace tonight.

    Dan

  8. Jackie said,

    This such a beautiful and heartfelt letter, Chelsea. A wonderful tribute to your love.
    I am thinking of you, my friend.

    xoxoxo Jackie

  9. Sheri said,

    Hi Chelsea,

    The firsts – big or small – are always the hardest. From what I can see you are doing exceptionally well. You should be very proud of yourself. Your daughters will benefit tremedously to have you as their example to follow.

    Take care,
    Sheri

  10. letterstoelias said,

    Thanks everyone so much for all the wonderful comments – sorry it took me so long to respond…

    I really appreciate the thoughts of Elias on his birthday, and every day. Thanks again,
    ~C~

  11. […] loved what I wrote on this day last year: https://letterstoelias.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/happy-birthday-my-love/  and still do as it’s all true.  On paper it’s more of an uplifting letter, but it […]


Leave a Reply

