May 2, 2011

There are times . . .

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 9:54 am by letterstoelias

. . . . when more than positive thoughts are needed (though, those help too!)

I’ve been planning a post about the ‘events’ of the 2yr anniversary of Elias’ death for a while now, but exhaustion from the grief hangover, then a week of the stomach flu once again, and a computer keyboard with a mind of it’s own has made it difficult to write.  I still have plans to write about it, but this weekend something a little more pressing came up.

I received a message from a friend, a fellow widow.  Only a few of us did – and she asked for nothing more than positive thoughts to help her get through a tough time.  When asked, she let us in on a few more details.  Things are hard for her right now.  Really, very hard.  She needs more than positive thoughts (though she is happy to have those as well, of course)

Times are tight for everyone, I know. Myself included. But, I have a house over my head and food on my children’s plates for the foreseeable future – a luxury my friend Cadi doesn’t have right now.

Even $5 from enough people could make a huge difference for her and her children.  

So many of us know how difficult it is to ask for help, even when a situation is desperate.  Sometimes it takes others to see the need and do the asking.  This is what a few of us are doing for Cadi.

A guest post has been written on her blog and a Paypal button set up, so that if you have $5, $10, $15 (or more) to spare, you can donate easily.  If you can also share the blog and let others know, I have no doubt we can build the community her little family desperately needs right now.

http://maehegirl.blogspot.com/

Holding you and your littles in my heart right now, Cadi.  And, in her words – Many blessings and much love to you all (and some good juju too!)

~C~

P.S. I Love You

8 Comments »

  1. Cadi said,

    Thank you so much. I can’t stop crying. Much love.

  2. Boo Mayhew said,

    am going to put this up on my blog too, and asking lawyer (old kiwi schoolfriend in Sydney) for contact in NZ. Paypal is so easy to use, well done on your idea x

    • letterstoelias said,

      Thanks Boo (and, shouldn’t you be sleeping right now???)

      I think it was Jackie or Sarah who first came up with the paypal button – so I don’t take credit for that . . . we’re all just doing what we can to help and I hope it does!

  3. Thanks so much for posting this and letting the rest of us know about the situation. This road sucks enough without having to worry about how we’re going to clothe/feed our children.
    I appreciate the chance to help, so thank you very much.
    Janine

  4. Dan said,

    It is lovely to witness the circle of support that a community can inspire.

    Love you.

    Dan

  5. Dianne said,

    Done!

  6. Cadi, so sorry you are having tough times. There’s no shame in receiving help — please take it as grace that you fully deserve. I made a small gift and hope it helps you just a little bit.
    LOVE
    Supa

  7. […] never actually met in person.  A ‘widda’ friend.  Someone I’d written about here before, as she had been going through an extremely difficult time.  She only ever asked a few of […]


Leave a Reply

